Recipe: Tomato Cream Sauce Pasta

IMG_7337 Creamy tomato is arguably one of my favorite sauces. Luscious, silky, glossy – yet at the same time, possessing an acidity enough to cut through its richness without being overwhelming. I remember developing a craving for tomato cream that lasted the longest time after trying La Cantina in Venezia’s Linguine Al Granchio. It was truly love at first bite! Until now, these cravings still come back to bother me occasionally whenever I see or hear about Cantina. Or even when I don’t. While I can’t possibly make a trip down to Changi Village every time it hits, I finally decided to stop having to ignore them by taking things into my own hands. Literally.

After a Google search for the base ingredients for a tomato cream sauce, as usual, I decided to wing it. To my surprise, this was one of those dishes where the amount of effort (extremely minimal) is inversely proportional to the product’s yum factor. In total, it took me less than 30 minutes to get a PASTA dish ready and plated! And guess what – more than half of this time I wasn’t even tending the stove.  As far as angmoh food goes, this is by far the most comforting meal I’ve whipped up on my own.

Tomato Cream Sauce

Ingredients (Serves 2 gluttons/3 normal eaters)
Knob of butter
2 tablespoons olive oil
4-5 cloves garlic, minced or diced
4-5 bulbs shallots/1 medium onion, diced
350 ml Hunts Tomato Paste (roughly two 6 oz cans)
150 ml heavy cream (more or less, up to personal preference)
Salt and pepper, to taste
Dash of sugar
Pecorino cheese

Preparation Instructions 

Step 1: Heat butter and olive oil in a medium pan and gently sweat the shallots/onions and garlic until fragrant.

Step 2: Add in the tomato paste and let sit above a small-medium fire to simmer for 20 minutes. Be careful not to burn the mixture!

Step 3: Add in the heavy cream and stir well. You will see that it has turned into a thick, glorious, yellowish-orange sauce. Add in a dash of sugar to balance out the acidity, and adjust the taste to your liking with a generous pinch of salt and pepper.

Step 4: Depending on preference, toss your favorite pasta into this creamy tomato sauce and you are good to go. If you like, generously grate Pecorino cheese over your pasta. Leftover sauce can be kept for two days in the fridge.

IMG_7314
I used Capellini, one of my favorite pasta types, because it:

  1. is versatile
  2. cooks fast (the one I bought takes less than 3 minutes!)
  3. is light, dainty and looks pretty
  4. works extremely well for a cream-based sauce

If you are hankering for a hearty and wholesome meal without being overwhelmed or thinking of lunch ideas on the go, this Tomato Cream Sauce Pasta is just for you. If you do try this recipe out, please let me know how it turned out for you and I would love suggestions for improvement. Tag me (@furreen) on Instagram! #smittenglutton 🙂

3 responses to “Recipe: Tomato Cream Sauce Pasta

  1. Wow Fureen your tomato cream capellini looks delicious! And I’ve had the crabmeat linguine from La Cantina before, totally know what you mean… but just too lazy to cook! Haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

