Department Of Caffeine (D.O.C)

doc4

As of now, you would have realized that there is certainly no shortage of cafés in Singapore. Tanjong Pagar, in particular, is home to more than a handful of these joints, and while they are all not difficult to find, deciding on which ones to hit up is a different story altogether. Department Of Caffeine (D.O.C), which joined the hood about half a year ago has managed to become the talk of the town despite being one of the latest additions to the area – and I can completely understand why.

From the outside, D.O.C exudes a sort of mysteriousness. I mean, it is located in a relatively quiet corner so looking at the constant stream of people coming and leaving got me feeling like it’s some kind of secret hideout.. Step inside though, and you’ll be welcomed by sweet, friendly staff and an unassumingly chic, modern yet subtly rustic decor.

Recognized for their coffee, D.O.C takes pride in crafting the perfect drink, roasting their own beans and pouring a perfect cuppa with their team of baristas. I’m no coffee expert, but I like to think I know a good cup of coffee when I taste one.

doc3

Flat White (S$5)

I was extreeemely pleased with their wide range of weekend brunch offerings, which included French Toast (S$16), 63°C Eggs (S$18.5) and mains like Roast Chicken with a salad of your choice. Having had a waffle craving for the longest time ever (I legitimately dreamt of waffles the night before), I got the Buttermilk Waffles (S$13.5) with butter rum bananas.

doc1

Buttermilk Waffles (S$13.5)

doc5

This was really good. I don’t know, it could have been my deprived brain playing tricks on me but I thoroughly and most honestly enjoyed my waffles. Light, fluffy yet crisp on the outside, not doughy at all and just really enjoyable as a whole. My personal preference though are ones that’re slightly crisper on the outside so that it wouldn’t turn too soggy with the melting ice-cream – but screw that, I would order this again.

doc2

Sausages, Mushrooms and Egg (S$18)

Mi padre’s Sausages, Mushrooms and Egg (S$18) is a predictable brunch choice, but their rendition of this was comforting and sincere. Our only gripe was that the bread could have been more toasty, because the crust of our sourdough was hard as a rock. Other than that, I would just like to say that the tomato salsa served with this was absolutely, fugggging delicious. Yup.

All in all, D.O.C ranks among my favorite cafés so far because they take their food seriously. Like any other café, I don’t think you can go expecting a peaceful ambience on weekends – but if you’re just looking for honest food, great coffee and equally good service, I’d say these people are the department you’re looking for.

DEPARTMENT OF CAFFEINE
15 Duxton Road
Tel: +65 6223 3426
Mon to Fri: 10.30am – 7.30pm
Sat & Sun: 9.30am – 7.30pm

Leave a Reply

