Tim Ho Wan @ Plaza Singapura

 

0acf68f4da1911e2882c22000a9e06a8_7

Dim sum is one of those foods I never say ‘no’ to. I love how you can have a variety of many different dishes – dumplings, shu mai, glutinous rice – all in one sitting and to me, it’s quite the perfect meal for any time, any day. Tim Ho Wan, proudly brought in all the way from Hong Kong where it was originally established, is no doubt the hottest new addition to the long list of F&B outlets, and is definitely the most popular dim sum restaurant here to date.

IMG_5943

In Hong Kong, Tim Ho Wan is said to be best-known for offering simple and delicious dim sum that will give you a bang for your buck. Here in Singapore the prices are jacked up slightly but the food is still great nonetheless. I’m not too sure how it compares to the original, but I’m guessing that it’s a different experience altogether – so until we get an air ticket headed for the bustling city of Hong Kong, we can only settle for this!

Come July, Tim Ho Wan will be opening another outlet at Toa Payoh followed by a few more peppered around our little island by the end of this year. Pretty sure they’ll be giving the rest of the dim sum places here a run for their money.

Regardless of the day or time visited, there is sure to be a queue: waiting time ranges from the bare minimum of an hour to quite possibly 3 hours when they first debuted here at Plaza Singapura. If you think you’ll have better luck at odd hours of the day when most people are at work, you are quite mistaken. Obviously though, the lunch and dinner queue is going to be the most unbearable.  Alternatively, you can wait for the hype to die down – as it always does – before laying your hands on what this one-starred Michelin dim sum restaurant has to offer. For me, anything more than 30 minutes is enough for me to think thrice, so looking back, to have waited 1.5h was simply crazy. I definitely enjoyed my meal here, but I’ll only be back when the hype is over and the queues shorter. Much, much shorter.

IMG_5952

Rice With Chicken, Sausage and Mushroom (S$6) was jam-packed with a load of yummy chicken chunks and lup cheong. Rice was also extremely flavorful and I simply couldn’t get enough. SO GOOD when it was served fresh and hot off the steamer!

IMG_5958Pork Rib with Black Bean Sauce (S$4.20) 

IMG_5962Glutinous Rice Dumpling (S$5) is a favorite yum cha dish for me. This was generously loaded with huge chunks of chicken and mushrooms which went perfectly with the glistening glutinous rice. I always love how the lotus leaf wrap lends a fresh tea-like quality to the dish. Flavor explosion!!!

IMG_5965Pan-fried Carrot Cake (S$4.50) or loh bak go fell flat for me. Swee Choon’s oily, greasy but uber-crispy deep-fried version has long won my heart!

IMG_5966Vermicelli Rolls with BBQ Pork (S$5.50) were melt-in-your-mouth good and they went so well with the soy sauce. Their pig liver version wasn’t fantastic for me, but I loved this one. Sidetrack: having a MASSIVE craving for 炸两 zhaliang (fried dough fritters wrapped with rice sheet rolls) right now.

IMG_5969Spring Roll with Egg White (S$4.20). I was slightly weirded out by the thought of egg whites here but hell no, I was wrong! These were savory with a subtle hint of sweetness from the whites, mad crispy and hardly too greasy. Very good and very clever.

IMG_5970Beancurd Skin Roll with Pork and Shrimp (S$4). Hard to resist but with the deep-fried version, these can pass.

IMG_5976Beancurd Skin Roll with Shrimp (S$5.50) is my BIGGEST WEAKNESS. Juicy as hell. So dericious

IMG_5972Prawn Dumpling (S$5.50) or Har Gow were stuffed with plump little juicy prawns. Not something I usually appreciate though.

IMG_5974Steamed Egg Cake (S$3.80) was light, fluffy, not too sweet and somehow very addictive. Reminded me of how I’m missing my sweet buns (specifically liu sha bao and yam bao!)

IMG_5961Finally, the most AMAZING Baked Buns with BBQ Pork (S$4.50). You absolutely CANNOT leave Tim Ho Wan without trying this!!!! Easily one of the most delicious things I’ve had in my life: these buns have a sweet, crispy, buttery crust stuffed with piping hot honey BBQ pork. I SWEAR these were effin’ bangin’!!

b66b9ffad9cb11e2876222000a9f0a1b_7Because these buns totally deserve a double take. I could eat a half dozen of them!

IMG_5983Finally some Osmanthus Cake (S$3.50) paired with Chinese tea to wash it alllll down. Stay cool guys!

TIM HO WAN
#01-29 Plaza Singapura
The Atrium @ Orchard
68 Orchard Road
Tel: +65 6251 2000

Cuisine: HK-Style Dim Sum
Average price per pax
: S$10-S$30
Recommendations: Baked Buns with BBQ Pork, Glutinous Rice Dumpling, Rice with Chicken, Sausage and Mushroom, Vermicelli Rice Rolls, Beancurd Spring Roll with Egg White

One response to “Tim Ho Wan @ Plaza Singapura

Leave a Reply

