Qi Ji 奇迹 @ ICA Building

After collecting my passport at the ICA Building with my dad yesterday afternoon, he suggested we grab a quick lunch at Qi Ji downstairs. I recall visiting Qi Ji at Tiong Bahru Plaza once or twice during my secondary school days, but then their food didn’t leave me a lasting impression. Regardless, this time I went with an open mind and I have to say I was rather pleasantly surprised!

Qi Ji’s signature Popiah($1.90)

Despite their humble beginnings(it started out as a small food stall at Funan Centre in 1984) – the family business has grown in more ways than one, as they have now expanded into a local halal food chain as well as a catering service.

Qi Ji’s ordering system is fuss-free and easy – you simply queue for your food, pay and eat! I didn’t snap a picture of the eatery’s interior, but know that the queue moves quickly so this makes a great place for lunch if you’re in a hurry.

Mee Rebus($3.50)

Mee rebus is not usually something I’d eat as I’ve never really enjoyed the sweet sticky gravy. Surprisingly, Qi Ji’s mee rebus was my favorite from yesterday. Its gravy had a good consistency which wasn’t overwhelming. 🙂

Tauhu Goreng($3.50)

We also had tauhu goreng, which is basically fried tofu in a spicy and slightly sweet sauce. With the crushed peanuts, beansprouts and shredded vegetables, there was a nice harmony of tastes and textures that reminded me of rojak. Taste was decent, but didn’t make me scream for more.

A cross-section of Qi Ji’s signature popiah

It was only recently when I found from Instagram that Qi Ji is best-known for their popiah(a local style of fresh spring roll). The popiah tasted like how it’s supposed to – spicy, sweet and savory and also contained most of the regular fillings(turnip, cucumber, carrot, beansprouts). Sadly I have to admit I was missing my lup cheong and crunchy doughy bits. 😦

Qi Ji offers a good number of other true blue Singaporean foods like nasi lemakmee siam, and laksa. You’ll also be glad to know that they have outlets island-wide, so if you’re looking for some decent local fare and run out of ideas, this could be a place to go.

Location

ICA Building
10 Kallang Road
#01-B-3 ICA Building
Singapore 208718

Opening Hours

Mon-Fri: 8.00am to 5.00pm
Sat: 8.00am to 2.00pm
Sunday: Closed

Check out their menu and locations of their other outlets at their website!

2 responses to “Qi Ji 奇迹 @ ICA Building

Leave a Reply

